MUSE news

field notes

MUSE news VOL 4•12.5 In this edition: chaos, order, daughters, girls, rock.

VOL 4•12.5
In this edition: chaos, order, daughters, girls, rock.

Chaos Theory in a small world
Happy to see winter behind us, and grey skies at bay. I’ve been active with songwriting and performing, meeting new people and continually connecting the dots in the random network of haphazard meetings that regularly surprise with small world moments. You’ll never find meaning, patterns and order by just staying home on the sofa. You have to step out of the comfort zone, feel the chaos and find the meaning.
https://i1.wp.com/johnkapeleris.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Chaos-Theory.png
Mapping the chaos

Coming Up: Red Velvet Room
I have 6 solo shows at Theatre la Cible this summer. Opening night is Sunday 10 June, 21h30, 62 bis rue j.B. Pigalle, Paris. I am looking forward to playing on the round stage in the red velvet room. If you are in Paris I hope you can come. Reservations here: http://www.theatrelacible.com.

Regular Rotation
Underbelly is now on regular rotation on New Driven Radio. The show airs Tuesday 8pm-midnight ESTon 89.1 WBCX and is streamed internationally:  www.Brenau.edu/wbcx.

Paris Girls Rock camp, Summer 2012!
Empowering girls and women through rock. Of course! Learn new instruments, songs, gain confidence, work together, activities, fun, concerts, music. There is a session for women of all ages, as well as girls camp sessions too. Camp is held in Saint-Denis on the RER D.
Register now for 23-29 July.
Info: http://www.hannahjudson.com/paris-girls-rock-camp.html
Sign up: http://www.shop.parisgirlsrock.org/main.sc
Use code: PGR2012HJUD for 5% discount.

Daughter Date
On Jeudi 26 Avril, I had a great night out in Paris with my daughter at Dorothy Polley’s American Center for the Arts to see our friend Anna Jeretic’s beautiful painting exhibition, which coincided with a Naomi Wallace reading. Anna Jeretic is a painter, print maker, and sculptor. Her work addresses broad issues of relationships between elements in nature and man’s position in and away from its source. Her studio is as much the natural world around her as it is any interior space. She makes sculpture and installations based on her discoveries in forest, fields, river banks and sky. You can see Anna’s work here.

Also presented that evening was Entre Ce Souffle et Toi,” a short play by Naomi Wallace. Wallace crafts a scene that brings up broad themes in a small medical clinic waiting room of who and how we are with, beside and inside one another. This short piece shows a father meeting the women who received his dead son’s lungs in an organ transplant. The father is Palestinian, the women who has received the transplant is Israeli.

My daughter is 10, squirmy, and often claims that the adult world will dissatisfy or bore, probably as a defense against having to sit too long somewhere. She loved the reading, Anna’s paintings, the train ride, our sushi dinner afterwards. I love doing things with just ma fille. It doesn’t happen enough.

COUP de COEUR: I learned about Amber Yholeata from her own passionate mom. Amber is a musician who tells it like it is from her own coast. She is a dance driven storyteller, with smooth vocals and a repertoire of sampled, borrowed, remixed, making it new. Based in Virginia, USA, it will be interesting to see where she goes next. Follow her here: https://www.facebook.com/OfficialAmberYholeata.

INTERVIEW WITH JASMINA VULIC
https://i1.wp.com/profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-ash2/195782_14185017559_4277130_n.jpg
Jasmina  Vulic is a singer/songwriter and producer of ¡Clang! Session shows, currently held at Espace B in Paris.  She gathers a spectrum of bands and solo artists, and is also active in her own creative project Eilinora & the Daffodils. You can find her either in Paris, Rennes or on the island of Malta. Jasmina was one of the first people I met on the Paris music scene, and my first Paris show was in a ¡Clang! Session at Abracadabar. I have always appreciated her style: modest, understated, very plugged in, and totally cool.  I wanted to find out a little more about Jasmina’s world and this is what I learned:

HJ: How did you first start producing shows?
Jasmina: I first started organizing show 8 years ago when I was involved in an Internet radio. We wanted to organize acoustic sessions in bars. I then left the radio but the bar still wanted me to organize gigs. That’s when I created ¡CLANG!. I stayed in that bar for a couple years more and then I ‘moved’ to Espace B where having a real venue, with a real stage was crucial to me, and I could start having an entrance fee so I could also pay the bands.

I don’t care if the bands I book are famous. They have to start somewhere. I just have to like those I book! I really enjoy doing that, I can meet with different people and I even got involved in bands as their manager, which I didn’t plan to go 8 years ago but that’s where passion led me!

HJ: What about your music?
Jasmina: I started recording an EP a few months ago for my project Eilinora & the Daffodils. Time is running and months have passed so the EP still doesn’t exist. But I still try and perform from time to time, even if I play more in Malta as my drummer lives there. As long as I can create, having a CD is not a priority for me.

HJ: What’s coming up in the future?
Jasmina: I’d like to have this EP so I can get booked in other venues, I’d love to play in other areas than Paris. Concerning ¡CLANG!, the next event is on the 8th of May at Espace B with the great Parisians The Chickties and the fantastic Maltese band Dolls For Idols before they go to the EuropaVox festival. It will me my 35th even as ¡CLANG! so the venue offers free couscous to everyone. Entrance is only €5 so I hope people show up cause the two bands deserve fame.

Keep in touch with her here:
Eilinora and the Daffodils on MySpace
¡Clang! page on
Facebook

And keep in touch with me here. Send info and ideas for the next MUSE news. Stay in touch!
Xox Love, Hannah

My fascinators:
www.HannahJudson.com
www.facebook.com/muse.hannah
www.twitter.com/HannahJudson
www.youtube.com/HannahJudsonMusic

We love to stay in touch with fans by email. If you’d rather not receive the newsletter please hit reply with the subject line UNSUBSCRIBE. Have questions, comments, ideas, and feedback for us at MUSE news? Email hannahjudsonmusic@gmail.com and we’ll get back to you, pronto.

© MUSE news
2421 W. Pratt Blvd. #412 Chicago IL 60645 USA
http://www.hannahjudson.com

 

Leave a Reply

